CheckoutShopping Cart

Certified PACS Associate (CPAS)

A summary of the requirements for the certification of a CPAS, or Certified PACS Associate are listed here. The focus is on general technical and clinical understanding. This certification is achieved by passing the 2 exams listed below.
  1. CPAS-Technical: Individuals are able to demonstrate their knowledge of general technical skills related to Imaging Informatics.
  2. CPAS-Clinical: Individuals are able to demonstrate their knowledge of general clinical skills related to Imaging Informatics.
Click here for a list of current requirements.

A. Technical Requirements
     1. Computer basics
          1.1 Hardware
          1.2 CPU and Memory
          1.3 Disk technology
          1.4 IP / MAC Addresses
          1.5 Exchange media
     2. Operating system basics
          2.1 Software
          2.2 Unix
          2.3 Windows
          2.4 DOS prompts
          2.5 Mobile Applications
     3. Core Architecture
          3.1 Databases
          3.2 Basic SQL knowledge
          3.3 Archiving architecture
          3.4 Archive implementations
          3.5 Core Interfaces
     4. Data representations
          4.1 Binary data format
          4.2 Bits, bytes
          4.3 Data Representations
          4.4 Monochrome, color
          4.5 Image representations
     5. Networking technology
          5.1 OSI model
          5.2 LAN/WAN
          5.3 Internet
          5.4 Throughput, bandwidth, level of service parameters
          5.5 Network components
     6. Basic Security Concepts
          6.1 System security in general
          6.2 Authentication
          6.3 Authorization
          6.4 Confidentiality and integrity
          6.5 Secure connections

B. Clinical Requirements
     1. Basic medical terminology
          1.1 History and background
          1.2 Coding
          1.3 Medical terms
          1.4 Clinical terms
     2. Basic human anatomy
          2.1 Nervous system
          2.2 Chest/abdomen
          2.3 Bony system
          2.4 Circulatory system
          2.5 The Endocrine/reproductive system
     3. Medical Imaging basics
          3.1 Principles of different modalities (CR, DR, XR, XA, RF, US, MR, NM, CT, MG, CT/PET, MR/PET)
          3.2 Basic operational procedural knowledge of imaging equipment
          3.3 Image characteristics for each modality
          3.4 Positioning and viewing techniques and terminology
          3.5 Other specialties
     4.. CR/DR: Computed and Digital Radiography
          4.1 Computerized and/or Digital Radiography
          4.2 Collimation versus shuttering
          4.3 CR/DR basics
          4.4 Special CR/DR applications
          4.5 QA/QC
     5.. Typical process flow
          5.1 Physician order
          5.2 Performance of exam
          5.3 Results reporting (dictation & speech recognition)
          5.4 Remote system access for image viewing
          5.5 Outside studies

Related Links
Certification Overview
CDIP Requirements
CPAS Requirements
CPSA Requirements
New Exam
We are now offering a new exam, Certified DICOM Integration Professional (CDIP).
Special Offers
We are pleased to announce that PARCA members receive free ITN subscriptions.
Click here for a list of FAQs.
Latest Press Release
PARCA Adds New DICOM Certification